MEDFORD - As usual, an exciting weekend of Jumbo Sports activities is planned for Homecoming 2011, which will take place October 14-16.

The weekend will begin with the Tufts Athletics Annual Awards Ceremony on Friday night (Oct. 14) at Cohen Auditorium. This year, wheelchair athlete, advocate and entrepreneur Michael Savicki, Class of 1990, will be presented the Distinguished Achievement Award.

Also that evening, seven Tufts students will be honored with annual department awards recognizing their excellence during the 2010-11 year. The honorees are field hockey's Tamara Brown, who will receive the Hester L. Sargent Award as best female athlete; baseball's Ed Bernstein, the Clarence "Pop" Houston Award winner as best male athlete; cross country/track's Amy Wilfert and football/lacrosse's Sam Diss for the Rudolph J. Fobert Awards as top multi-sport athletes; basketball's Vanessa Miller and Matt Galvin as the Murray Kenney Award winners for positive attitude and persistence, and Timothy Horgan Award selection for sportswriting Philip Dear.

The ceremony begins at 7:30 pm. Admission is free and all Jumbos are invited.

More information will be provided on all of the award winners at a later date.

On Saturday, four Tufts teams play critical New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) games in front of the Homecoming crowd. Field hockey hosts Williams at Bello Field beginning at noon. Also at noon, women's soccer plays Williams on Kraft Field. The football team faces Trinity College at Ellis Oval/Zimman Field beginning at 1:30 pm. The men's soccer match against Williams will be played at 2:30 on Kraft Field.

For a full line-up of Homecoming 2011 events, visit Tufts Alumni's Homecoming website at http://www.tuftsalumni.org/events-reunions/homecoming/.