Women's Squash Wins Opening Match of CSA Team Nationals Over St. Lawrence

Zarena Jafry was one of nine Jumbos to win in three games Friday.

MEDFORD – In their opening match of the College Squash Association Team Nationals at Harvard the No. Tufts Women's Squash team topped No. 23 St. Lawrence to advance to the second round of the Walker Cup.  The Jumbos will now take on No. 19 Bates at 11:15 am on Saturday at Harvard. 

The win helps the Jumbos improve to 14-7 overall this year.  They will now face off with Bates, a team that has beaten the Jumbos twice this year.  The Bobcats won at the end of January up in Maine and fell, 7-2.  They then played them again in the NESCAC Championship fifth place match and were bested, 6-3. 

The Jumbos won on Friday in three games in all nine positions.  Freshman Julie Yeung took the courts in the first position and topped Alexandra Infante, 11-2, 11-4, 11-4. In the second position, sophomore Claire Davidson was able to limit St. Lawrence's Katie Smith to just eight points across three games in her 11-3, 11-5, 11-0 win.  Junior Zarena Jafry topped Gabrielle Ahrens in three games in the third position, 11-3, 11-4, 11-1.  

In the fourth position sophomore Catherine Shanahan bested Losangela Batista, 11-5, 11-8, 11-6.  Junior Hannah Burns faced off with Cristina De La Vega in the fifth position and won, 11-4, 11-3, 11-5.  Freshman Rachel Windreich picked up a win over Cindy Ama Yao in the sixth position, 11-5, 11-7, 11-1.  

Freshman Chloe Kantor picked up an 11-3, 11-7, 11-6 win over Allie Brazo.  Junior Sahana Karthik played the closest match of the day in the eighth position, beating Katie Walsh, 11-8, 11-4, 12-10.  Rounding out the Jumbos lineup was senior Lauren Banner in the ninth position, who won over Madison Goodwine, 11-5, 11-3, 11-6. 

The Jumbos are looking to win the Walker Cup which features teams ranked No. 17 through No 24 in the country.  They take on Bates tomorrow at 11:15 am.  If they win they play the winner of the Dickinson and Wesleyan match on Sunday at 11:30 for the Walker Cup title.