Men's Lacrosse is #1 Seed in North for 2019 NCAA Championship Tournament

MEDFORD – For the 11th year in a row, the Tufts University men's lacrosse team earned an NCAA Tournament berth this spring and tonight the Jumbos learned that they were selected as the #1 seed in the NCAA North bracket. As a result, they will host first and second round games at Bello Field this week.

Head coach Casey D'Annolfo's Tufts team (17-1) won its ninth NESCAC title and second in a row on Sunday at home with a 17-16 overtime victory against Williams College. That made the Jumbos NESCAC's automatic qualifier for the NCAA's. As the #1 seed in the North, the Jumbos will host a first-round game between New England College (9-8) and Norwich University (13-4) on Tuesday at 4 pm. The winner of that game will play Tufts on Wednesday at 7 pm.

Tickets prices are $8 for adults, and $5 for students, children, and senior citizens. Tufts students are free with ID. Tickets will be on sale one hour prior to game time each day.

Tufts has been in the tournament every year since 2009 and this is the program's 12th berth overall. Tufts has a 29-8 record in NCAA play and won national championships in 2010, 2014 and 2015. The Jumbos also played in the 2011 and 2016 national championship games.

New England College won their fourth consecutive NAC/NECC Alliance Championship on Saturday at SUNY Canton 17-8. The Pilgrims will be making their eighth NCAA appearance and have a 1-7 record in their previous games. Norwich is the GNAC champion after taking an 8-6 final against Lasell on Saturday. The Cadets will be making their second NCAA appearance (0-1).

The winner of Wednesday's game between Tufts and either New England College or Norwich will play the winner of the Stevenson (12-7) at Franklin & Marshall (12-5) second-round game in the third round next Saturday.

Also as the #1 seed in the North, the Jumbos will play at home on Bello Field as long as they are still alive in the tournament until the national championship game which is scheduled for May 26 in Philadelphia.

The championship provides for a 36-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) was granted to 27 conference champions, which form "Pool A." One team is selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B). The remaining eight teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference's AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C). NESCAC teams Amherst, Wesleyan and Williams also earned berths.

> 2019 NCAA Division III Men's Lacrosse Championship Bracket