Kumar, Coach Raho Receive 2019 NESCAC Men's Squash Post-Season Honors

Raghav Kumar
Coach Raho

MEDFORD – Head coach Joe Raho and junior Raghav Kumar of the Tufts University men's squash team have received New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) All-Conference honors for the 2019 season.

In his second season as head coach of the Jumbos, Raho guided the Jumbo men to the seventh seed in the 2019 NESCAC Tournament. That's the program's highest ranking in the tournament since 2010. The Jumbos were the ninth seed in NESCAC for the last three seasons (2015-18) after four straight years (2011-15) as the 11th seed. Only the sixth-seeded 2007 and 2008 Jumbo teams earned better seeds for NESCAC's, which began in 2007.

At the College Squash Association (CSA) Team Nationals February 15-17, Tufts played in the Summers Cup division for the first time since 2010. They finished the season as the #24 team in the CSA rankings.

Kumar, who played at #1 for Tufts all season, was given an All-Conference second team award. He posted a pair of victories against Wesleyan sophomore Sean Choi, who earned an All-Conference first team accolade. Kumar also played very competitive five-game matches against first-teamer Terrence Wang of Amherst and second-team selection Ian Squiers from Bowdoin.

Raho is the first Tufts coach to win a men's squash Coach of the Year honor. He is also the NESCAC Women's Squash Coach of the Year for 2019.

> 2019 NESCAC Men's Squash All-Conference Teams