Runner-up 2nd Varsity Eight Leads Women's Rowing at NIRC on Sunday

Senior Bibi Lichauco helped power the second varsity eight to second place today.

WORCESTER – The Jumbo women's rowing second varsity eight finished as the runner-up at the 2019 National Invitation Rowing Championships (NIRC) on Lake Quinsigamond Sunday.

Tufts won its heat by nearly three seconds in the morning with a 7:05.204 mark compared to second-place WPI's 7:08.084. The Jumbos then finished behind only Bates (6:58.465) in the grand final in the afternoon with a 7:08.511 time. Tufts was ahead of Wesleyan, Williams, Wellesley and WPI among 18 teams overall.

For the second varsity, coxswain Jordan Sclar, stroke Karen Dooley, 7 Miranda Finestone, 6 Bibi Lichauco, 5 Alicia Heia, 4 Madeleine Clarke, 3 Laurel Haeger, 2 Polly Harrington and bow Sophie Bredenkamp made up Tufts' line-up.

The first varsity eight NESCAC championship was contested at the NIRC. The Jumbos were fifth in the conference behind Bates, Wesleyan, Hamilton and Williams in the 1V8 races. Tufts was third in its heat (6:57.167) and then fourth out of six in the petite final (7:06.237). Bates was first out of 20 teams overall with their 6:46.525 in the grand final.

Third varsity eight racing included two Tufts boats. The A team won their six-team heat in 7:24.501 and were then sixth in the grand final (7:34.056). The B boat timed 7:42.532 in their heat for fourth place and then took fifth in the petite final (7:57.966). Williams won the 3V8 competition with a 7:02.972 grand-final finish.

The Jumbo 1V8 line-up for Sunday was coxwain Gabby Borenstein, stroke Lindsay Naber, 7 Camden Myles, 6 Lauren Drohosky, 5 Libby Lichter, 4 Amanda Downing, 3 Grace Fabrycky, 2 Prairie Hammer and bow Grace Duisberg.

Coxswain Jill Armenia, stroke Erika Madrian, 7 Danielle Kaden, 6 Erin Dwyer, 5 Emma Worple, 4 Miriam Weiss, 3 Sophia Carroll, 2 Jiana Schnabel and bow Gillian Mehigan were the third varsity A line-up. The 3V B was coxswain Sarah Toms, 8 Nina Pittas, 7 Leslie Spencer, 6 Abby Henne, 5 Eve Devens, 4 Mayo Adeboye, 3 Kathryn Luhrman, 2 Risa Williams and bow Leila Skinner.

The selections for the NCAA Division III Women's Rowing Championships will be announced Tuesday. Tufts is a long shot for an at-large berth.