Women's Lacrosse Team and Student-Athletes Receive Academic Honors from IWLCA

MEDFORD - The Tufts University women's lacrosse team has been named as an Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) Zag Sports Academic Honor Squad for the 2017-18 academic year. Additionally, eight team members were selected to the 2018 IWLCA Zag Sports Division III Academic Honor Roll in announcements made today.

To qualify for the IWLCA team honor, squads must have posted a 3.0 or higher team GPA for the academic year. The Jumbos achieved a 3.43 team GPA for 2017-18.

Tufts' eight players on the Academic Honor Roll were the fourth-most among the 189 schools which had team members recognized. To be eligible for the individual honor, student-athletes must be a junior, senior, or graduate student and have earned a cumulative academic GPA of 3.50 or greater. Eight Jumbos met the mark -  Audrey Evers (junior Psychology/Community Health major), Cecily Freliech (junior Biology major), Courtney Grygiel (junior Child Study and Human Development major), Taylor Meek (senior Sociology/Film and Media Studies major), Caroline Nowak (senior Economics/Computer Science major), Tori Rudnicki (senior Quantitative Economics major), Maddy Schwartz (junior Biology/Community Health major), and Hedy Veith (junior Economics/Community Health major).

Head coach Courtney Shute's Tufts team finished the 2018 season at 13-5, the most wins the program has seen since 2009. They also made it to the second round of the NCAA Championship for the first time since 2015.

> IWLCA / Zag Academic Honor Squads

> IWLCA / Zag Academic Honor Roll