Three Jumbos, Coach Raho Earn 2019 NESCAC Women's Squash All-Conference Awards

Coach Raho

MEDFORD – For the first time since the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) All-Conference teams in women's squash were first announced in 2008, Tufts University features three honorees this winter and also has leader Joe Raho recognized as Coach of the Year.

Junior co-captain Claire Davidson earned a spot on the first team, while junior Julie Yeung and freshman Megan Chen were voted on to the second team. The All-Conference honor is the second for both Davidson (2017 1st team) and Yeung (2018 2nd dteam).

Raho, who led Tufts to a best-ever fifth-place finish in NESCAC this season, is the first Jumbo leader to earn women's squash Coach of the Year.

Currently playing at the College Squash Association (CSA) Team Nationals Walker Cup this weekend in Connecticut, the Jumbos have a 10-6 record and are ranked #17 nationally. For the second year in a row, Raho guided the Jumbos to receiving the fifth seed and an opening-round bye in the conference championship. The Jumbos defeated Baes 5-4 on February 10 to secure fifth place in the conference.

Tufts' #17 national ranking places them as the #1 seed in this weekend's CSA Walker Cup. They will be looking to improve upon their 19th-ranked finish to last season.

Davidson led the Jumbos from the #1 spot all year. She had seven wins including a pair against Wesleyan first team All-NESCAC selection Aditi Prasad. She also beat Colby's Sydney Ku, a NESCAC second-team pick. Yeung won 10 matches while holding down the second spot in Tufts' order all season. She won all three of her conference championship matches including against Bates College first-teamer Kristyna Alexova when the Jumbos defeated the Bobcats to lock down fifth place in the league. Chen started the season at #6 for the Jumbos and moved up to #3 in the middle of the year. She also had 10 wins in 16 matches including a key victory over Bates' Vicky Arjoon (All-NESCAC second team) when the Jumbos defeated the Bobcats 6-3 on January 25.

Raho was also the NESCAC men's squash Coach of the Year this season.

> 2019 NESCAC Women's Squash All-Conference Teams